2023-24 Season

California State University, Fresno • Concert Hall

Prev Next

Dénes Várjon

Website   •   Facebook

Wednesday, April 10, 2019 • 8:00PM

First Prize Winner at the 1991 Géza Anda International Piano Competition in Zürich, Dénes Várjon is following the footsteps of the great András Schiff as one of today’s most gifted Hungarian musicians. His artistic activities have included collaborations with such distinguished conductors as Sir Georg Solti, Sándor Végh, Iván Fischer, Heinz Holliger, Horst Stein, and Zoltán Kocsis as well as appearances at the international festivals of Marlboro, Salzburg, and Edinburgh. London’s Classical Music Magazine comments, “It is rare to hear such jaw-dropping virtuosity placed so modestly and so intuitively at the service of music.”

Concert Program

Sonata in A Major, Op.101
Six Piano Pieces, Op.118
Selections from Játékok
Symphonic Etudes, Op.13